Schools expansion

Mon 22 June 2015, 2:57 pm

Southwark Council has agreed a series of expansions to schools across the borough.

There is planning consent in place to extend 11 schools across the borough, including the Charles Dickens, Bellenden, Ivydale, Robert Browning, Grange, Crawford, Phoenix, Edwardian, Albion, Keyworth, Belham and Cherry Garden schools.

From 1 September 2016, the number of additional school places provided in the five years from 2011 to 2016 to 2,585 – an 11% increase in primary provision.

The Micheal Faraday School, which opened four years ago, teaches up to 480 pupils from the ages of three to 11, and has been a key element of the council’s schools programme.




Latest News

The great 'Mayflower 400' voyage

Grants have been awarded to the organisations preparing to celebrate the 400th anniversary of the world-famous Mayflower ship's maiden…

By Suruchi Sharma

Makeover for Keppel Row

By Suruchi Sharma

Young hearts run free

By Suruchi Sharma