Housing zones announced for Southwark

By Marco Cillario - Fri 11 March 2016, 12:51 pm

Two areas in Southwark have been identified as housing zones by the mayor of London.

Canada Water

Canada Water and Old Kent Road were among the 11 new housing zones announced by Boris Johnson on 10 March.

The former is set to provide 1,000 new units, the latter 1,300.

Housing zones are areas designated to stimulate and speed up house building, regeneration of brownfield sites and development of supporting infrastructure through a range of planning and financial measures.

An additional £200 million has been invested by the mayor for the 11 new zones, which will provide 24,554 new homes.

London now has 31 housing zones, for which £600 million in funding has been made available, estimated to deliver 77,000 new properties, 34% of which are allocated as affordable, and create 150,000 jobs over the next 10 years.



Latest News

The great 'Mayflower 400' voyage

Grants have been awarded to the organisations preparing to celebrate the 400th anniversary of the world-famous Mayflower ship's maiden…

By Suruchi Sharma

Makeover for Keppel Row

By Suruchi Sharma

Young hearts run free

By Suruchi Sharma